Thursday, March 23, 2017

Conference: Herman Hoskier and the Future of Textual Scholarship on the Bible

I meant to post about this when it was announced but forgot in the mix of other responsibilities. This looks like an outstanding lineup of speakers and I understand that a conference volume is expected. Paper proposals are open until 15 April. More info and registration here.
28-30 August 2017
Dublin City University
School of Theology, Philosophy, and Music
Herman Charles Hoskier (1864-1938) was a textual scholar of the New Testament whose work remains influential in the field today. As part of the Irish Research Council’s Decade of Centenaries, this conference explores the present state and future prospects of textual scholarship on the Bible in the digital age, using Hoskier’s work as a starting point for the discussion. Short papers are invited that address the following topics: the intellectual context of twentieth century textual scholarship, manuscript collections in Ireland, the future of the critical edition, the digital humanities and the Bible, Hoskier’s text critical work and current developments in the field, the versions in textual scholarship, the Editio Critica Maior, manuscripts as objects and material culture, trends and prospects in textual criticism, text critical method, the future of textual scholarship, early printed editions, studies on manuscripts, and related topics.

Keynote Speakers:

  • David Parker (University of Birmingham)
  • Stanley Porter (McMaster Divinity College)
  • Jennifer Knust (Boston University)
  • J. K. Elliott (University of Leeds)
  • Martin Karrer (KiHo Wuppertal)
  • Juan Hernández Jr. (Bethel University)
  • Claire Clivaz (Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics)
  • Thomas J. Kraus (Universität Zurich)
  • Tommy Wasserman (Ansgar Teologiske Høgskole)
  • Christina Kreinecker (Universität Salzburg)
  • Klaus Wachtel (INTF Münster)
  • Catherine Smith (University of Birmingham)
  • Hugh Houghton (University of Birmingham)
  • Martin Wallraff (LMU München)
  • Jan Krans (VU Amsterdam)
  • Annette Hüffmeier (INTF Münster)
  • Jill Unkel (Chester Beatty Library)
  • Dirk Jongkind (University of Cambridge)

No comments

Post a Comment