Wednesday, September 11, 2013

How many books in the New Testament?

Not a trick question: 27. And there is more (that I learnt from Bart Ehrman): this is trinitarian, since the NT is about the Christian God, and therefore specifically about the Trinity.  And what is 27?  3 to the 3rd power (3 x 3 x 3).  
(Also there are 3 letters in New and 9 in Testament so 3×9 = 27)

1 comment

  1. Actually, the Old Testament is about the Trinity as well, as Old has 3 letters, Testament has 9 letters, so the Old Testament has 39 books. And the NT books fulfil the OT books because 3x9 (from the OT) = 27 (in the NT).